Fashion no-no, or no?: Brown pants, black shoes

We all know that wearing BROWN shoes with BLACK pants is a huge fashion no-no. If you weren’t aware of this information, I’d invite you to do some research here, there, or basically anywhere. When I Googled “brown shoes with black pants”, surprisingly Google autofilled my request and came back with about 2 MILLION results! Most of the results being in the negative. So suffice it to say, that issue is pretty much resolved.

Decisions, decisions...

However, what about BLACK shoes with BROWN pants? I have a pair of dark brown slacks (I’d call it chocolate), but am lacking a pair of nice brown shoes to go with said pants. Does the inverse rule apply? When I googled black shoes with brown pants again I got 1,990,000 results. However, the world seems to be undecided as to whether this is a fashion no-no, a “only if you can pull it off” kind of a thing, or a “yeah sure, I think it looks fine” deal.

Ignore the carpet! Ignore the carpet!

This is basically what it would look like if I wore my black shoes and brown pants. Of course you would need to insert a woman’s shoe and try your very hardest to peel your eyes away from the PUKE GREEN SHAG carpet. What do you think? Ok, or not ok? Would YOU wear black shoes with brown pants? Let me before I venture out into the world in this ensemble and possibly embarrass myself!

5 Comments on “Fashion no-no, or no?: Brown pants, black shoes”

  1. Sarah Ayres says:

    if they are the only shoe option you have then yes, however I wear brown shoes with my brown/ khaki pants as a rule

  2. Riley Branch says:

    I have to disagree….

    1st of all, no one wears brown shoes that color any more. They’re always a darker brown.

    2nd as long as your belt matches the color of your shoes you’re fine.

  3. Stacie says:

    Girls don’t wear belts with slacks silly…

  4. Tien says:

    In the pics, it’s apparent that the brown shoe is a for sure no-no with the black pants, but the black shoe with brown pants is fine. Yet, I have to wonder about what previous replies said about darker brown shoe with black pants…hmmm

  5. Cathy says:

    I have to say your blog is the best. I never laughed so hard especially your last comment when you said “you would need to insert a woman’s shoe and try your very hardest to peel your eyes away from the PUKE GREEN SHAG carpet. I can relate because I have been wondering whether I should wear black women’s shoes with brown pants too (and you can imagine what my 30 year old carpet looks like)!

    I have decided to wear the black shoes with brown pants because I have come to the conclusion I cannot justify going out and buying a pair of brown shoes for one pair of pants. (My feet hurt and I have to buy expensive shoes)!


Leave a Reply

