30 Day, 20 Minute Cleaning Schedule

multiple this times 30

Yes I’m back. Sorry about the week long hiatus I took there. I was pretty much dead to the world last week from Wednesday evening until Sunday night with the worst sore throat I can ever remember having. It nearly killed me, it did. The only things that kept me alive were sugar-free popsicles, lots of them. I mean 5 bags of popsicles consumed over 4 days (we bought them Thursday) with each bag containing 12 twin pops (the ones with the two sticks in them). That’s 60 popsicles people!! And I bought the sugar-free ones because I knew I was going to eat tons of them and I didn’t want to gain 300 pounds from my self-prescribed popsicle binge. Even though I was feeling much better by Sunday I still came home, ate another popsicle and went promptly to sleep for the next few days after that. It wasn’t until yesterday evening that I finally felt completely well enough to start picking all the things that I dropped like a ton of bricks the week before. So, this is me picking my blog back up.

I chose this post today for two reasons. The first being that while I was sick my house got trashed with popsicle sticks, drinking glasses, dishes and crumbs all over the kitchen from Jeffrey trying to keep himself alive with whatever he could find to eat while I lay dying on the couch and tons and tons of laundry. Now that I’m not sick this ultra messy house is going to make me go postal if I don’t start cleaning something soon. And secondly, the beginning of a new month starts on Sunday. This second part is important because it goes along nicely with the cleaning schedule I’m about to share.

how most of us probably feel about housework

I found this blog post one day back in December when I was using stumbleupon.com. What it is is a really easy cleaning schedule to keep your house in tip-top shape all the time. The concept is very easy: do a little (20 minutes) each day so that it doesn’t pile up into a mountain of stuff that you chose to try to do all in one day. However what makes this post special is that the author guy actually continues on and gives you a cleaning schedule to work with along with five tips that will make things run even more smoothly. The five tips are:

1) Deal With What Comes Through The Door – This basically means when you walk through the door make sure your keys and cell phone have a designated home, junk mail goes into the trash, and legit mail gets taken out and taken care of RIGHT THEN

2) Do Your Dishes After Every Meal- To me this means that dishes that you eat with go straight into the dishwasher and cooking stuff gets cleaned right after the meal. If you’re married or have a roommate a good rule to establish is one person cooks, the other cleans up. To go along with this, the dishwasher needs to also be unloaded as soon as it’s done so you don’t get a backlog of dirty dishes sitting in the sink.

3) Laundry- hate it, but gotta do it. Author guy says to also do a little of this everyday. I’m not gonna lie, I’ll wash a load one day and wait until the next day to dry it. I leave the lid of the washer open so that the moisture can escape and some of the stuff can air dry (saving me drying time and money on the cycle). None of my stuff ever gets mildew-y smelling after sitting only a day, try it out sometime.

4) Whistle While You Work- I ‘m also not gonna lie about this, I almost left this tip out because I thought it was stupid. This tip just said to have some music playing while you clean so you’re “distracted”. Yeah….right.

5) Set a Timer- This way you’re more accountable for your time and you wont get as easily distracted because you know that you “only have 20 minutes” to accomplish x, y and z so you will stay more focused. On the other side, setting a timer and breaking your time up in chunks will make cleaning seem more manageable.

Now that you have your 5 tips to help you along here is the monthly schedule for always keeping your house looking nice. Again, set a timer for only 20 minutes and complete the task for the day. If you’re starting with a messy house (like mine) in 30 days your house will be clean, neat and tidy. If your house is already clean this schedule will be an easy way to maintain that clean house all the time.

The 30 Day Schedule

1. Surface clean living room and kitchen (pick up stray items, dust, sweep, vacuum)

2. Clean bathrooms (toilets, showers, floors, walls, mirrors)

3. Surface clean bedrooms (put away toys, clothes, dust)

4. Surface clean “extra” rooms (basement, office, play room)

5. Surface clean living room and kitchen

6. Clean bathrooms

7. Clean all interior windows (white vinegar and newspaper works great and is cheap!)

8. Sweep and vacuum all floors in the house (don’t forget stairs)

9. Surface clean bedrooms

10. Deep clean living room (mirrors, baseboards, dust artwork)

11. Clean bathrooms

12. Clean out closets (hang up clothes, mittens, jackets, hats)

13. Surface clean “extra” rooms

14. Deep clean bedrooms (organize drawers, check under bed, tidy closet, dust artwork, fans, lights, mop)

15. Surface clean living room and kitchen

16. Deep clean bathrooms (clean inside drawers, inside of trash cans, tops of mirrors, tile, mop)

17. Clean all door knobs, phones, entertainment equipment (remote controls), switch plates, banisters and other things that are repeatedly touched.

18. Clean out the refrigerator, take stock of food, organize pantry

19. Clean entryway, sweep porch (if you have one), clean out car (because they’re often our home away from home)

20. Surface clean living room and kitchen

21. Surface clean bathrooms

22. Surface clean bedrooms

23. Sweep and vacuum all floors in the house

24. Clean linen closet, straighten towels, sheets or regular closet if not applicable

25. Surface clean living room and kitchen

26. Deep clean kitchen (scrub appliances, wash trash cans, base boards, wipe down and straighten cabinets)

27. Surface clean bathrooms

28. Surfaces clean bedrooms

29. Clean one item you’ve been meaning to get to and haven’t (deep clean your stove, wipe down all light fixtures, tackle a particularly unruly area)

30. Sweep and vacuum all floors in the house

Starting today (even though today is the 30th and not the 1st, but the 1st is a Sunday and thou shalt honor the Sabbath) I’m going to stick to this schedule for the full 30 days. At the end of this experiment I’ll report back and let you know whether or not this schedule can live up to all that it says it can, I have high hopes for it.


3 Comments on “30 Day, 20 Minute Cleaning Schedule”

  1. Ginger says:

    I am going to follow along also, seems too easy lol but hey, if it works I will be happy :)

  2. Your means of telling the whole thing in this paragraph is in fact pleasant, every one
    be capable of simply know it, Thanks a lot.

  3. Lance says:

    Adore your interesting site. Check this fantastic SEO news at: ncodesoft (dot)com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.